Early Years Foundation Stage

Pupils in Nursery and Reception work within the framework of The Early Years Foundation Stage.

The curriculum is organised in the 7 overlapping and integrated areas of learning:

See a curriculum overview here.

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical development
  • Communication and Language

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The Early Years classroom is a very busy place where pupils pursue their learning in groups, as a class or individually.  Themes are planned around the children’s interests. Play is a very important part of children’s learning and this is reflected in the inside and outside learning environment. Pupils in our Nursery and Reception classes have a mix of Physical Development through timetabled lessons and provision within their learning environment.

All of the areas of learning and development are interconnected to the characteristics of effective learning, which are ‘playing and exploring’, ‘active learning’ and ‘creating and critical thinking’.